First Day of K – A Guest Post

I am so honored to have a guest post today on one of my favorite blogs. Marilyn is a newly-Orthodox blogger who writes about culture, faith, traveling, and the Middle East. If you read my post I highly recommend sticking around and checking out her blog.

Marilyn R. Gardner

One of the things I have loved about writing is getting into conversations with people who don’t have my background but know what it is to live between worlds. Today’s post comes from someone like that. I met Thea online when she began to read Communicating Across Boundaries. Since that time we have had some short but wonderful conversations about living between worlds. Today she takes you into her world of living between. You’ll want to grab a hot drink for this one! Read more about Thea at the end of the post and head over to her blog!

*********

Earlier this fall, I dropped my firstborn child off for her first day of kindergarten. I had been dreading the day since March, feeling it’s cold shadow over her last days of preschool, sensing a little worm of panic squiggling under the surface of long, lazy afternoons, finding a new urgency in my perennial…

View original post 1,310 more words

2 thoughts on “First Day of K – A Guest Post

  1. I love this post Thea – so many of your words have been going through my head since I posted it this morning. These two parts are my favorites: “Living between worlds meant knowing how to adapt to new circumstances, but it also meant always having a fall-back. Never being able to completely fit in meant never having to commit 100%, never having to fully belong. There was safety in knowing that I had secrets, that there was more to me than met the eye.” and “This kind of rootedness, this deep sense of belonging to an incidental community based on bloodlines and shared geography rather than an intentional one based on shared principles and beliefs, is new territory for me. It lends a different magic to my daughter’s childhood, and will have its own hidden dangers, its own kinds of safety to bestow”

    • Thanks for your kind words, and for publishing my post! That’s the great thing about writing – whether or not anyone reads it, it makes you think deeply and put into words things that would otherwise just float under the surface.

Leave a Reply

