Menu Monday: The First Week of Advent

I am not afraid of commitment. Really, I’m not. When it comes to the major decisions in life – going to a monastery (for school, not as a novice) at 14, choosing a college major, marrying my husband, buying a house, etc. – I have no trouble making a choice and sticking to it. It’s the little decisions that get me. I can agonize for a ridiculous amount of time over what movie to watch, what outfit to wear, or whether to go to the park or the zoo on a Saturday afternoon. It’s no wonder, then, that planning a menu an entire week in advance is challenging. Menus aren’t for everyone. For me, however, the effort is worth it. Having a menu for the whole week allows me to do all of my grocery shopping on one day, helps me plan for leftovers and waste less food, and most importantly, gives me one less minor decision over which to agonize each day.

For anyone who would like to make a weekly menu but isn’t sure where to begin, I will share my menu for each week of the fast with links to any recipes that came from other blogs and a few tips to help you get started planning your own.

  • Monday: Butternut Squash Soup with Thai Curry with Tofu and Broccoli Stir-Fry                       Take a quick inventory of what’s in the fridge and the pantry. If you’ve got veggies waiting to be used, plan a meal around them. I just happen to have some butternut squash from my garden that will be lovely in this soup.                                               I try to pair dishes my kids aren’t likely to eat with things they like. My daughter is not a fan of squash, but they both love broccoli and tofu.
  • Tuesday: Lentil and Rice Patties, Sweet Potato Fries, Apples n’ Onions Cabbage
  • Wednesday: Leftovers from Monday!                                                                            At least once or twice a week I cook enough for two meals. Rather than eating the same thing twice in a row every time, I often save the leftovers for a night I know will be busy. Or plan an afternoon outing on a night I know I have leftovers.
  • Thursday: Salmon with Mediterranean Collard Greens                                          The fast is relaxed a little today. Fish is allowed in honor of the feast of the Entry of the Theotokos into the Temple. For more information about the feast click here
  • Friday: More Lentil and Rice Patties!

Check back soon for recipes! Until then, I wish you all a Merry Monday Morning!

2 thoughts on “Menu Monday: The First Week of Advent

  1. Pingback: Menu Monday | the garlic whisperer

Leave a Reply

